Out & About: Westmoreland Art Nationals return live after 2 years of virtual shows


The Westmoreland Art Nationals lives up to its title, with exhibiting artists hailing from as around as Greensburg and as significantly as Florida, Massachusetts and Alaska.

The to start with of two once-a-year juried exhibitions affiliated with the Westmoreland Arts & Heritage Festival opened with a Saturday evening reception at Westmoreland County Group Higher education in Hempfield.

“The outstanding expertise in this space and further than is just awesome,” reported the festival’s Government Director Diane Shrader, noting that there were 501 submissions general, with 106 acknowledged.

“We’re grateful for that person who put us around 500,” she joked.


Shirley McMarlin | Tribune-Evaluation

Greatest in Show Award winner Cindy Morris (center) of Elizabeth with Erin Shrader, assistant government director of the Westmoreland Arts & Heritage Festival, and the artist’s partner, Mace Morris, at the May 21 opening of the Westmoreland Art Nationals at Westmoreland County Group Higher education.


Artists and art enthusiasts collected close to to hear the next awards introduced:

Ideal in Exhibit: “Skizzy’s Dream,” stained glass by Cindy Morris of Elizabeth

Curator’s Decision Award: “A Saucer of Loneliness,” electronic art by Keith Bastianini of Bethel Park

WCCC President’s Choice Award: “Bella Terra Section Deux,” infrared images by Alexis Dillon of Greensburg

Portray Award: “Joy,” by Richard Harydzak of Murrysville

Graphics Award: “Lake Ladder,” by Lauren Scavo-Fulk of Jeannette

Craft Award: “Oval Pitcher,” by Stephen Heywood of Hollywood, Fla.

Sculpture Award: “Goddess of the Morning,” by Bryon Draper of Springville, Utah

Photography Award: “Foggy Morning at the Lake,” by James Murphy of Greensburg

Mixed Media Award: “Sun,” by Ron Nigro of Trafford

Digital Media/Digital Art Award: “Hold On,” by Lynda Kirby of Baden

New Entrant Award: “Intellectual Jousting,” acrylic and ink by Annabelle Tarr of Greensburg.

Shrader observed that the competition usually chooses an out-of-state juror, with entries discovered only by amount.

This year’s juror was artist Mary Ellen Wherli of Lewisville, Texas. Wherli has exhibited in juried demonstrates in Texas and California and her get the job done is exhibited in numerous general public structures and museums.


Shirley McMarlin | Tribune-Critique

Curator Nick Silvis (centre) with curatorial assistants Suzie Bergman and Eric Kim at the Might 21 opening of the Westmoreland Art Nationals at Westmoreland County Neighborhood Faculty.


Curator for the WCCC exhibit was artist Nick Silvis of Greensburg, a high-quality arts graduate of WCCC and Seton Hill University with an desire in significant-scale sculpture, installation artwork and jewelry structure. He has been both curator and curatorial assistant for previous Art Nationals.

His curatorial assistants had been Suzie Bergman and Eric Kim.

The Art Nationals were offered on the web in 2020 and 2021 mainly because of the pandemic.

“It was pleasant to be equipped to do it digitally, but we’re happy to be back again in particular person,” Shrader said.

The exhibition continues via June 8 in Commissioners Hall. Visitors can vote for a beloved piece for the People’s Preference Award, to be declared through the opening reception for the second exhibition, established for 6 to 8 p.m. on June 25 in the action middle at Twin Lakes Park east of Greensburg.

The second exhibition, curated by local artist Jeff Donato, will operate concurrently with the competition, June 30 by way of July 3. Awards will be declared at 7 p.m. for the duration of the reception.

Found at WCCC: Erin Shrader, Snooky Williams, Jennifer Benford, Paul and Mandy Sirofchuck, Mace Morris, Tamara DiBartola, Candace Haffinger, Nancy Rusbosin, Scott and Janet Anderson, Sean Gallagher and Sherrie Dunlap Gallagher, Bethany Gary, Teresa Olivo, Amanda Olivo, Chloe Walls, Tsamara Roberts, Andrew Hazelton and Camille Valenza-Hazelton, Eileen Yeager, Fred and Cathy Silvis, Barbara Ferrier, Brandon Fiume and Jessica Schulte, Jon Mullin and Devon Frohnhofer.

Shirley McMarlin is a Tribune-Evaluation staff members author. You can make contact with Shirley at 724-836-5750, [email protected] or through Twitter .


Supply link